The Society for Simulation in Healthcare > About SSH > Pioneer in Simulation Award


The sixth Pioneer in Simulation Award was presented to Daniel Raemer at IMSH 2020. Dr. Raemer was selected as this year’s award recipient for his many innovations and accomplishments in advancing the field of simulation and especially for his vision to start a professional simulation society, his efforts to bring it into existence, and his leadership as the founding President of SSH.


The fifth Pioneer in Simulation Award was presented to Professor Ronald Harden at IMSH 2019. Professor Harden’s pioneering work in medical education has had enormous impact around the world. His work has advanced simulation-based education and assessment across the breadth of healthcare professions.


The fourth annual Pioneer in Simulation Award was presented to Dr. David Gaba at IMSH 2017. Dr. Gaba developed the technology for one of the first human patient simulators; was a critical force in bringing simulation to teamwork in healthcare; and was the founding editor-in-chief of the premier journal for scholarship in simulation, Simulation in Healthcare.



The third annual Pioneer in Simulation Award was presented to Lou Oberndorf, MBA, President/CEO at Medical Education Technologies Inc. and Chairman, Oberndorf Family Foundation at IMSH 2016. Lou was recognized for industrialization of the human patient simulator and other significant contributions to the healthcare simulation industry.


SSH presented the second annual Pioneer in Simulation Award to Dr. Michael Gordon at IMSH 2015. Dr. Gordon is the inventor of the lifesaving Harvey™ cardiovascular patient simulator. An affecting inspirational video highlighting his lifelong contributions to advancing healthcare education brought the audience to its feet in ovation. Dr. Gordon accepted his award with a heartfelt speech of encouragement and appreciation that left many in the audience equally emotional with gratitude for his enduring legacy, friendship, and ongoing support. 

The first annual Pioneer in Simulation Award was presented to Dr. Stephen Abramson at IMSH  2014. Dr. Stephen Abrahamson developed the first computer-controlled manikin simulator, SimOne.